GO TO: How to Submit Testimony | Board Meetings | BWS Live | Manager's Office

As a semi-autonomous agency, the Honolulu Board of Water Supply (BWS) is governed by a seven-member Board of Directors. The BWS sets policies and prescribes regulations for the management, control and operation of the public water systems on Oahu and the properties of these systems, and fixes and adjusts rates and charges for the furnishing of water services. The Board of Directors also appoints the Manager and Chief Engineer of the BWS.

There are seven board members, with five-year staggered terms. Five members are appointed by the Mayor and approved by the City Council. The remaining two directors are ex-officio (by virtue of office or position), the Director of the State Department of Transportation and the Chief Engineer of the City Department of Facility Maintenance.


Updated: 09/26/2023