JUMP TOHalawa Xeriscape Garden | Seed of the Month | Join FOHXG | Upcoming Workshop List

Halawa Xeriscape Garden Workshops

*** NOTICE: Workshop schedule is subject to change. As of Friday, March 6, 2020, The Halawa Xeriscape Garden is temporarily closed until further notice. There will be no workshops or Free Xeric Seed of the Month during this time. Email workshops@hbws.org or call (808) 748-5315 with questions. ***


September 2019

Workshops



Da Bug Doctor (Green Pest Control)
Andrew Nowinski
Sat, Sep 14 - 10:30 a.m. - $5 fee
COMPLETED

Backyard Composting:
Nature's Recycling

Henry Gabriel, City & County of Honolulu
Sat, Sep 21 - 10:30 a.m. - $5 fee
COMPLETED

Fancy Funnels
Sheri Mikami, BWS
Sat, Sep 28 - 10:30 a.m. - $20 fee
COMPLETED

October 2019

Workshops



Economical Aquaponics
Raychel Watkins, HappyPonics
Sat, Oct 5 - 10:30 a.m. - $5 fee
COMPLETED

NEW!
Paint in the Garden: Bamboo
Erika Brown, FHOXG
Sat, Oct 12 - 10:30 a.m. - $30 fee
COMPLETED

Rain Barrel Water Catchment
Water Resources Staff, BWS
Wed, Oct 16 - 10:30 a.m. - $35 fee
COMPLETED


Whimsical Reusable Owl Planter
(Eco-Craft)

Sheri Mikami, BWS
Sat, Oct 26 - 10:30 a.m. - $8 fee
COMPLETED

November 2019

Workshops



Recycled Drawer Garden Nook
(Eco-Craft) - Part 1 of 2

Sheri Mikami, BWS
Sat, Nov 2 - 10:30 a.m. - $25 fee
COMPLETED

Recycled Drawer Garden Nook
(Eco-Craft) - Part 2 of 2

Sheri Mikami, BWS
Sat, Nov 9 - 10:30 a.m.
COMPLETED

How to Create a Xeric Butterfly Garden
Jo-Ann Maeda, FOHXG
Sat, Nov 16 - 10:30 a.m. - $5 fee
COMPLETED

Xeric Holiday Wreath
Sheri Mikami, BWS
Sat, Nov 30 - 10:30 a.m. - $5 fee
COMPLETED

December 2019

Workshops



Xeric Holiday Wreath
Sheri Mikami, BWS
Sat, Dec 7 - 10:30 a.m. - $5 fee
COMPLETED

January 2020

Workshops



NEW!
Xeric Mini Zen Garden (Eco-Craft)

Sheri Mikami, BWS
Sat, Jan 11 - 10:30 a.m. - $15 fee
COMPLETED

Da Bug Doctor (Green Pest Control)
Andrew Nowinski
Sat, Jan 18 - 10:30 a.m. - $5 fee
COMPLETED

February 2020

Workshops



​Rock Your Garden
Lynne Berry Westlake, FOHXG
Sat, Feb 1 - 10:30 a.m. - $15 fee
CANCELLED

Advanced Aquaponics
Raychel Watkins, HappyPonics
Sat, Feb 8 - 10:30 a.m. - $5 fee
COMPLETED

Rain Barrel Water Catchment
Water Resources Staff, BWS
Sat, Feb 15 - 10:30 a.m. - $35 fee
COMPLETED

How to Make and Use
Bokashi Compost

Jan Nadamoto
Sat, Feb 22 - 10:30 a.m. - $15 fee
COMPLETED

NEW!
Paint in the Garden: Plumeria
Erika Brown, FHOXG
Sat, Feb 29 - 10:30 a.m. - $30 fee
COMPLETED

March 2020

Workshops



NEW!
Introduction to Native Hawaiian Plants
Michele Harman, BWS
Sat, Mar 7 - 10:30 a.m. - $8 fee
CANCELLED UNTIL FURTHER NOTICE

Xeric Critters (Eco-Craft)
Sheri Mikami, BWS
Sat, Mar 14 - 10:30 a.m. - $10 fee
CANCELLED UNTIL FURTHER NOTICE

NEW!
Paint in the Garden: Dragonfly
Erika Brown, FOHXG
Sat, Mar 21 - 10:30 a.m. - $30 fee
CANCELLED UNTIL FURTHER NOTICE

Xeric: Succulents and Beyond
Lynne Berry Westlake, FOHXG
Sat, March 28 - 10:30 a.m. - $5 fee
CANCELLED UNTIL FURTHER NOTICE

April 2020

Workshops



Rain Barrel Water Catchment
Water Resources Staff, BWS
Wed, Apr 1 - 10:30 a.m. - $35 fee
CANCELLED UNTIL FURTHER NOTICE

Mālama ʻĀina​ at Halawa Xeriscape Garden
Garden Staff, BWS
Sat, Apr 11 - 10:30 a.m. - Free
CANCELLED UNTIL FURTHER NOTICE

Backyard Composting:
Nature's Recycling

Henry Gabriel, City & County of Honolulu
Sat, April 18 - 10:30 a.m. - $5 fee
CANCELLED UNTIL FURTHER NOTICE

NEW!
Introduction to Simple Irrigation
Juan Macres, FOHXG
Wed, Apr 22 - 10:30 a.m. - $5 fee
CANCELLED UNTIL FURTHER NOTICE


NEW!
Let's Talk Soil
Lynne Berry Westlake, FOHXG
Sat, Apr 25 - 10:30 a.m. - $5 fee
CANCELLED UNTIL FURTHER NOTICE

May 2020

Workshops



Terracotta Madness
Sheri Mikami, BWS
Sat, May 2 - 10:30 a.m. - $8 fee
CANCELLED UNTIL FURTHER NOTICE

Gardening with Beneficial Microbes
Jan Nadamoto
Sat, May 9 - 10:30 a.m. - $20 fee
CANCELLED UNTIL FURTHER NOTICE

How to Make a Ti-Leaf Lei
Arthur Aiu, BWS
Wed, May 20 - 10:30 a.m. - $5 fee
CANCELLED UNTIL FURTHER NOTICE

NEW!
Pokahu Pals
Michele Harman, BWS
Sat, May 30 - 10:30 a.m. - $10 fee
CANCELLED UNTIL FURTHER NOTICE

Updated: 03/06/2020 

< GO BACK TO WORKSHOPS