Jump to: Halawa Xeriscape Garden | Seed of the Month | Join FOHXG | Upcoming Workshop List

Halawa Xeriscape Garden Workshops

Schedule is subject to change. Email workshops@hbws.org or call (808) 748-5315 with questions.


September 2019

Workshops



Da Bug Doctor (Green Pest Control)
Andrew Nowinski
Sat, Sep 14 - 10:30 a.m. - $5 fee
COMPLETED

Backyard Composting:
Nature's Recycling

Henry Gabriel, City & County of Honolulu
Sat, Sep 21 - 10:30 a.m. - $5 fee
COMPLETED

Fancy Funnels
Sheri Mikami, BWS
Sat, Sep 28 - 10:30 a.m. - $20 fee
COMPLETED

October 2019

Workshops



Economical Aquaponics
Raychel Watkins, HappyPonics
Sat, Oct 5 - 10:30 a.m. - $5 fee
COMPLETED

NEW!
Paint in the Garden: Bamboo
Erika Brown, FHOXG
Sat, Oct 12 - 10:30 a.m. - $30 fee
COMPLETED

Rain Barrel Water Catchment
Water Resources Staff, BWS
Wed, Oct 16 - 10:30 a.m. - $35 fee
COMPLETED


Whimsical Reusable Owl Planter
(Eco-Craft)

Sheri Mikami, BWS
Sat, Oct 26 - 10:30 a.m. - $8 fee
COMPLETED

November 2019

Workshops



Recycled Drawer Garden Nook
(Eco-Craft) - Part 1 of 2

Sheri Mikami, BWS
Sat, Nov 2 - 10:30 a.m. - $25 fee
REGISTRATION FULL & CLOSED

Recycled Drawer Garden Nook
(Eco-Craft) - Part 2 of 2

Sheri Mikami, BWS
Sat, Nov 9 - 10:30 a.m.
MUST COMPLETE PART 1

How to Create a Xeric Butterfly Garden
Jo-Ann Maeda, FOHXG
Sat, Nov 16 - 10:30 a.m. - $5 fee
REGISTRATION OPEN

Xeric Holiday Wreath
Sheri Mikami, BWS
Sat, Nov 30 - 10:30 a.m. - $5 fee
REGISTRATION OPENS NOV 12

December 2019

Workshops



Xeric Holiday Wreath
Sheri Mikami, BWS
Sat, Dec 7 - 10:30 a.m. - $5 fee
REGISTRATION OPENS NOV 12

January 2020

Workshops



NEW!
Xeric Mini Zen Garden (Eco-Craft)

Sheri Mikami, BWS
Sat, Jan 11 - 10:30 a.m. - $15 fee
REGISTRATION OPENS DEC 24

Da Bug Doctor (Green Pest Control)
Andrew Nowinski
Sat, Jan 18 - 10:30 a.m. - $5 fee
REGISTRATION OPENS DEC 31

February 2020

Workshops



​Rock Your Garden
Lynne Berry Westlake, FOHXG
Sat, Feb 1 - 10:30 a.m. - $15 fee
REGISTRATION OPENS JAN 14

Advanced Aquaponics
Raychel Watkins, HappyPonics
Sat, Feb 8 - 10:30 a.m. - $5 fee
REGISTRATION OPENS JAN 21

Rain Barrel Water Catchment
Water Resources Staff, BWS
Sat, Feb 15 - 10:30 a.m. - $35 fee
REGISTRATION OPENS JAN 28

How to Make and Use
Bokashi Compost

Jan Nadamoto
Sat, Feb 22 - 10:30 a.m. - $15 fee
REGISTRATION OPENS FEB 4

NEW!
Paint in the Garden: Plumeria
Erika Brown, FHOXG
Sat, Feb 29 - 10:30 a.m. - $30 fee
REGISTRATION OPENS FEB 11

March 2020

Workshops



NEW!
Introduction to Native Hawaiian Plants
Michele Harman, BWS
Sat, Mar 7 - 10:30 a.m. - $8 fee
REGISTRATION OPENS FEB 18

Xeric Critters (Eco-Craft)
Sheri Mikami, BWS
Sat, Mar 14 - 10:30 a.m. - $10 fee
REGISTRATION OPENS FEB 25

NEW!
Paint in the Garden: Dragonfly
Erika Brown, FOHXG
Sat, Mar 21 - 10:30 a.m. - $30 fee
REGISTRATION OPENS MAR 3

Xeric: Succulents and Beyond
Lynne Berry Westlake, FOHXG
Sat, March 28 - 10:30 a.m. - $5 fee
REGISTRATION OPENS MAR 10

April 2020

Workshops



Rain Barrel Water Catchment
Water Resources Staff, BWS
Wed, Apr 1 - 10:30 a.m. - $35 fee
REGISTRATION OPENS MAR 17


Xeriscape Spring Activities
BWS Staff
Sat, Apr 11 - 10:30 a.m.
$5 fee for first person + $2 fee for each additional person
REGISTRATION OPENS MAR 24


Backyard Composting:
Nature's Recycling

Henry Gabriel, City & County of Honolulu
Sat, April 18 - 10:30 a.m. - $5 fee
REGISTRATION OPENS MAR 31

NEW!
Let's Talk Soil
Lynne Berry Westlake, FOHXG
Sat, Apr 25 - 10:30 a.m. - $5 fee
REGISTRATION OPENS APR 7

May 2020

Workshops



Terracotta Madness
Sheri Mikami, BWS
Sat, May 2 - 10:30 a.m. - $8 fee
REGISTRATION OPENS APR 14

Gardening with Beneficial Microbes
Jan Nadamoto
Sat, May 9 - 10:30 a.m. - $20 fee
REGISTRATION OPENS APR 21

How to Make a Ti-Leaf Lei
Arthur Aiu, BWS
Wed, May 20 - 10:30 a.m. - $5 fee
REGISTRATION OPENS MAY 5

NEW!
Pokahu Pals
Michele Harman, BWS
Sat, May 30 - 10:30 a.m. - $10 fee
REGISTRATION OPENS MAY 12

Updated: 10/29/19 [PDF Version]

* In general, workshops will start at 10:30 a.m. and run about 60-90 minutes. Start and end times may vary based on topic. Check the specific workshop listing for details. 

< GO BACK TO WORKSHOPS